yesssss the Chess strips are back. And this one is genius
Hrm. My best guess (assuming Black to move):
1. … Kg8
2. Nxe7+ Kf7
3. Nxf5 ½-½ (insufficient material to mate (that’s what she said))
I’m a beginner at chess, so don’t judge me too harshly if I missed something.
Actually, once the knight takes the queen, mate is not possible. There is no way for a rook and a king to accomplish checkmate by themselves (remember, the bishop is not there to give aid), so the game would have ended in the current state (the outcome is too obvious at this point to even bother with the next two moves).
I hope you’re not offering to draw games when you have rook & king vs. a king http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Checkmate#King_and_rook
Eh, it has been a long time. Still, at the point described, the sequence of moves for a stalemate is so painstakingly obvious that few players would bother to finish out the moves.
I know people like you. Please stop giving chess advice.
whoops, misread the board. Please keep giving chess advice.
white wins you idiot thats the point of the comic and the name at the end
You appear to have missed the bishop at G8 that prevents the king from moving there. It’s checkmate and black loses.
You gots to read the alt-text
Lo que pasa es que en ingles al caballo se le llama knight, que significa caballero. Lo que hace el rey es convertir al peón en caballero. Ocasionando un mate. En español no se aprecia =).
To Benjamin Geiger:
I’m not sure what you meant by Kg8 because black’s king is already there, so that wouldn’t be a move.
When the pawn changed into a knight it’s checkmate because nothing can take the knight and the only two squares white’s king can move to (g7 and h7) are protected by black’s king.
Just trying to help.
sorry, I meant to say that black’s bishop is already on g8 so the king can’t move there.
Benjamin Geiger: you’re right.
a: as Greg told someone else, B.G. is trying to figure the question in the alt text : “what sequence of moves would arise if the black bishop wasn’t there”
and have black king and queen have a divorce, splitting the kingdom in half, making two kings.
Haha! I totally love this joke! Good one *thumbs up*
I love this gag. However… for a pawn to become a knight, the King must dub him a knight AND provide a steed… where does the steed come from? This violates the principle of the conservation of steeds.
They captured a knight or two earlier in the game. Just use one of them.
I really love how you constructed such a perfect position, with the only move White can make being the pawn going on to get killed (and immediately White losing), and then of course the perfect checkmate by “knighting”. Not a single piece can be removed from the board or moved closer… Saint-Exupery’s remark on perfection comes to mind. 🙂
Freefall… why would there be a rook?
After knight takes queen, rook is threatened and king is in check… and knight+king vs king is definitely insufficient material to mate.
Checkmate… wasn’t that a “gentlemen’s special interest film” from some eastern European country?
Damn! I of course meant Checkmatesalot!
Loved this one. And also the subtext mini-problem. This is getting interesting as I progress backwards…
If the Bishop weren’t there, the only option would be for the black King to move one square to the left (where the Bishop currently is). The white Knight would then move to take the black Queen, placing the black King back in check. From there, the black King would have to make a move to the right, left or down-left.
I don’t have enough time to really examine everything, but it looks like, in the end, Black would actually win with only their Rook left.
Na, black would lose. After the black King moves right, left or down left, the white knight eats the rook and presto!
…For one, the king doesn’t move down-left, because that would put him in check. But that’s irrelevant.
After your sequence of events, white has a knight and a king, and black has only a king. But I don’t think there is a way to checkmate with only a knight and a king, so it would end in stalemate, as an above comment has said.
without the bishop the situation would obviously end remis. 1. (wtf?)+ Kg8 2. Kxe7+ Kf8 3. Kxf5 0.5-0.5
If Black and White were playing just to end the game, it would indeed end that way, but if they were both trying to actually win, due to the unconventional movements of the Knight, black could probably eke out a victory.
maybe you should learn some chess–king vs. king + knight will always end in a draw. And there’s no way black can protect his other pieces.
If the bishop weren’t there the game ends in a draw.
1. Ng6+ Kg8
2. Nxe7+ K(f8,f7)
Two Knights can’t mate a lone King either unless the King missteps.
Very funny! My rating is 2400….. don’t listen to these losers
If the pawn can become a Knight, after removing Black’s Queen and Rook, the Knight would once again become a pawn and be promoted to a Queen and white would live happily ever after.
if the pawn were to become a knight, and the bishop wasnt’ there: …Kg8, Ne7+ Qxe7, Kg6 Qh7#
That pawn would have been taken TWICE by either the queen or the rook where they are. Lame.
Those who analyzed chess tactics in the preceding comments doesn’t understand the humor in this joke.
Humor and analysis are never, I repeat, never, mutually exclusive.
i have no idea why people are analyzing the game and some even proved that it is not even a mate!!!!!
it was the white’s turn and instead of doing the only move available of moving the pawn, he knighted him and it became checkmate to the black. that’s it!!!
no knight takes queen, no bishop not there.. none of these crazy things i have been reading here which were clearly written by people not joking.
come on guys!!!
I don’t get it.
..Why does everyone care so much? It’s hilarious. xD
@ HenryKillinger, the queen is at e7, so if the knight moved there the queen would be dead. then
2 … Kg8
3 Nxf5 .5-.5
the knighting is whites move